Province Seeks Medal of Bravery Nominations

first_img Completed nomination forms should be sent to: Provincial Secretary, Medal of Bravery, Department of Justice, 4th floor, 5151 Terminal Rd., Halifax, N.S., B3J 2L6. For more information, contact Nadia Gardin at the Department of Justice at 902-424-5941, or e-mail [email protected] The province is once again looking to honour Nova Scotians who put themselves at risk to protect the life or property of others. A call for nominations went out today, Feb. 8, for Nova Scotia’s Medal of Bravery. This is the fourth year for the award. Any Nova Scotian can be nominated for the medal, not just people in law enforcement and public safety sectors. Only acts of bravery that occurred on or after Jan. 1, 2007 will be considered under the Nova Scotia Medal of Bravery Act. Nomination forms are available at Access Nova Scotia centres, offices of members of the legislative assembly, and on the Medal of Bravery website at The deadline for nominations is May 1. An advisory panel, chaired by former Chief Justice of Nova Scotia Constance Glube, will select this year’s medal recipients. Other committee members are:center_img Marian Tyson, deputy minister of Justice Harold Pothier, fire marshal Chris McNeil, Halifax Regional Police deputy chief and president of the Nova Scotia Chiefs of Police Association Andrew Lathem, director of Emergency Programs, Emergency Management Office Brig.-Gen. Steve Bowes, Commander of Maritime Forces Atlantic Wayne Adams, member-at-large John Cody, member-at-large last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *